CBC Radio 3 Connects and Compiles Music in Canada

Published: 2004-07-27
CBC Radio 3 is known as the station that plays great underground and indie tunes. Since it can sometimes be hard to catch the Radio 3 shows depending on where a person lives in this country, the station has offered up an alternative. Radio 3 has brought the mix tape back for a new generation of Canadians.

Radio 3 put together two different compilations featuring Canadian artists. One is called 'CBC Radio 3: New Music Canada Vol. 1' and has 16 tracks of indie groups from all over this grand country of ours. The other is 'CBC Radio 3: Sessions Vol. 1', which takes live performances from some of Canada's more established acts and puts them on one disc. Both compilations are available at record stores and through www.cbcshop.ca, each costing $12.99 (quite a steal, might I say).

To check out the music included on the two albums, head on over to www.newmusiccanada.com for the more unknown acts and www.justconcerts.com for live set from artists like Rufus Wainwright and The Organ. If you want to find a site truly dedicated to all aspects of Canadian pop culture, surf over to www.cbcradio3.com for a magazine format of the cutting-edge radio station. In addition to some amazing music, the site features Canadian artists and writers.

In the words of CBC: "It's time to find out about all the Canadian music the other radio stations haven't been playing."

'CBC Radio 3: New Music Canada Vol. 1' track-listing:

Audio Lava – 'Leaf'
Insurgent – 'Dissolving Behaviour'
Danny Dopamine – 'Vo Code Her'
Madrid – 'Stereostar'
Dragon Fli Empire – 'Mount Pleasant'
Butta Babees – 'Man 'n Motion'
Fun 100 – 'Computer'
Atlas Strategic – 'Jeered by Minor Demon'
Cripple Creek Fairies – 'Greenroom'
Tigre Benvie – 'My Father Moved Through Dooms of Love'
Litterbug – 'Oh You Are So Beautiful'
Music for Mapmakers – 'Don't Know What You're Trying To Say'
White Star Line – 'Sniffer's Row'
Orange Glass – 'How Fast is Too Fast'
The Paperbacks – 'Grey Skies'
Bucky Quagmire – 'Double Feature'

'CBC Radio 3: Sessions Vol. 1' track-listing:

Sloan – 'Losing California'
The New Pornographers – 'The Fake Headlines'
Hot Hot Heat – 'Le Le Low'
The Hidden Cameras – 'Music is My Boyfriend'
The Dears – 'Expect the Worst/'Cos She's a Tourist'
Kid Koala – 'Drunk Trumpet'
Manitoba – 'Leila'
BrassMunk – 'Push Up'
The Organ – 'A Sudden Death'
Tricky Woo – 'Hot Kitty'
The Constantines – 'Blind Luck'
Rheostatics – 'Harmelodia (Easy To Be With You'
The Sadies – 'I Tried Not To'
Buck 65 – 'The Anthem'
John K. Samson – 'Utilities'
Oh Susanna – 'King's Road'

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.