Mercury Music Prize Short-List Announced

Published: 2004-07-23
The short-list for the coveted Mercury Music Prize was announced earlier this week. The judges have narrowed the list of 180 entries down to the final 12 albums up for consideration. The final winner of the Mercury Prize will be announced on September 7th.

The Mercury Prize goes to who the judges feel is the most deserving British artist of the year. Past winners include Pulp, Badly Drawn Boy, PJ Harvey, and last year's recipient Dizzee Rascal. Not only does the award demand a lot of respect from the winner's peers, but the Mercury Prize generally drives up record sales.

The short-list for the 2004 Mercury Music Prize is as follows:

Basement Jaxx – 'Kish Kash'
Belle & Sebastian – 'Dear Catastrophe Waitress'
Franz Ferdinand – 'Franz Ferdinand'
Jamelia – 'Thank You'
Keane – 'Hopes And Fears'
Snow Patrol – 'Final Straw'
Joss Stone – 'The Soul Sessions'
The Streets – 'A Grand Don't Come For Free'
Ty – 'Upwards'
Amy Winehouse – 'Frank'
Robert Wyatt – 'Cuckooland'
The Zutons – 'Who Killed… The Zutons'

The front runners for this year's Prize are art-rockers Franz Ferdinand and rapper the Streets. According to an interview with NME though, Mike Skinner is sure the Streets will not win. He told the British magazine: "People say I snub awards but I don't, I don't go cos I don't fit in… I won't go this time, I've been thinking about it, so don't bet on me winning cos you don't get an award if you don't go!"

Although the Mercury Prize considers artists from every style of music imaginable, for the past two years the award has gone to rap artists (Dizzee Rascal, Ms. Dynamite). Maybe that means the Streets has a better chance at winning than Mike Skinner realizes.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.