The Waxwings New Album Descends

Published: 2004-07-13
Today (July 13th) sees the release of Detroit band the Waxwing's newest album. 'Let's Make Our Descent' is the quartet's third album, and first release for the larger Rainbow Quartz records. By joining the Rainbow Quartz label, the Waxwings now find themselves label mates with Canadian rockers the High Dials.

Although they hail from the city fast becoming known as the garage rock capital of the world, the Waxwings don't count themselves as part of the movement. The four members of the Waxwings, Dean Fertita (vocals/guitar), Dominic Romano (vocals/guitar), Kevin Peyok (bass), James Edmunds (drums), draw their inspiration from the British pop bands of the sixties, more concerned with their idols' sound than what type of recorder was used.

Staying true to the harmonic sounds of the 60's rather than feedback riddled guitars, the Waxwings' debut album, 'Low To The Ground' (dropped in 2000), garnered comparisons to the Beatles rather than the White Stripes. The year 2002 saw the release of their sophomore effort, titled 'Shadows of the Waxwings'. Now, two years later, comes the release of the Waxwing's third album. To support 'Let's Make Our Descent', the band is heading out on tour this summer. There are no Canadian dates scheduled, however.

To read Soul Shine's take on the Waxwings' newest album 'Let's Make Our Descent', head on over to the Reviews section.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.