Matt Pryor Goes Solo, Stops in Canada

Published: 2008-06-27
Former frontman of the Get Up Kids and current frontman of the New Amsterdams, Matt Pryor is hitting the road solo. Initially known as the lead singer for the indie rock band The Get Up Kids, Pryor and the band landed gigs opening for the likes of Green Day and Weezer before disbanding in 2005. In 2000, Pryor began working on an acoustic side project the New Amsterdams. Their most recent album At the Foot of My Rival was released in 2007 however the band released a collection of demos and b-sides on their website at the beginning of 2008.

Pryor will release his very first solo album Confidence Man on July 29. According to his official MySpace page, Pryor wrote, played, sang, recorded and produced the folk-tinged album at his home studio in Kansas. A couple of Pryor's new tunes "Confidence Man" and "Loralai" is currently streaming on his official MySpace page. The other tracks on the album include:

"Totally New Year"
"Still There's A Light"
"When the World Stops Turning"
"I'm Sorry Stephan"
"We'll Be Fine"
"Confidence Man"
"I Wouldn't Change A Thing"
"Dear Lover"
"Lover's Who Have Lost Their Cause"
"Where Did I Go Wrong"
"On How Our Paths Differ"
"Who Do you Think You Are"
"It Ends Here"

Pryor will also begin a tour to support the new album from the beginning of August until mid-September. He'll be making a couple of Canadian stops:

August 11, Vancouver, BC Media Club
September 9, Toronto, ON Mod Club

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.