MuchMusic Video Award Nominations Announced

Published: 2008-05-27
Last week, the full list of nominees for the MuchMusic Video Awards was announced, following the previous week's unveiling of those in the People's Choice categories.

As opposed to the People's Choice categories, the rest of the MuchMusic Video Awards winners will not be voted upon via the MuchMusic website. Instead, the winners will be picked by those involved with the music television station and revealed in a live broadcast as part of the awards ceremony, which will be televised on the 15th of June at 9pm. The Toronto event will take place outside the MuchMusic studios at the CHUM-City Building, as it has for the last few years.

The most nominated acts and artists include Hedley, Belly, IllScarlett and Simple Plan. Special guest presenters and performers have yet to be completely confirmed except for Girlicious.

Here is a selection of nominees for the 2008 MuchMusic Video Awards:

Best Video
Belly featuring Mario Winans - "Ridin''"
Feist - "1234"
Hedley - "For the Nights I Can't Remember"
IllScarlett - "Nothing Special"
Simple Plan - "When I'm Gone"
Best Cinematography
Belly featuring Mario Winans — "Ridin''"
City and Colour — "Waiting"
Hedley — "For the Nights I Can't Remember"
Hedley — "She's So Sorry"
Skye Sweetnam — "Human"

Best Director
Bedouin Soundclash — "Walls Fall Down"
Belly featuring Mario Winans — "Ridin''"
Hedley — "For the Nights I Can't Remember"
IllScarlett — "Nothing Special"
Sam Roberts — "Them Kids"
Best International Video — Artist
Alicia Keys — "No One"
Chris Brown featuring T-Pain — "Kiss, Kiss"
Fergie — "Clumsy"
Flo Rida featuring T-Pain — "Low"
Kanye West — "Stronger"
Madonna featuring Justin Timberlake — "4 Minutes"
Miley Cyrus — "Start All Over"
Rihanna — "Don't Stop the Music"
Sean Kingston — "Beautiful Girls"
Usher featuring Young Jeezy — "Love in This Club"
Best International Video — Group
Fall Out Boy — "The Take Over, The Breaks Over"
Foo Fighters — "The Pretender"
Linkin Park — "Bleed it Out"
MGMT — "Time to Pretend"
Maroon 5 — "Wake Up Call"
OneRepublic — "Stop and Stare"
Panic At The Disco — "Nine in the Afternoon"
Queens of the Stone Age — "Sick, Sick, Sick" (Version 2)
Timbaland Presents OneRepublic — "Apologize"
Tokio Hotel — "Ready, Set, Go!"

Writer: Stephanie Ng Wan



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.