Newworldson Join 29th Annual Covenant Award Winners

Published: 2007-10-29
Brian Doerksen, Starfield and Newworldson cleaned up at the 29th Annual Covenant Awards (formerly known as CGMA) in Calgary, AB this past Friday. Starfield have been the regular favourites, but now with the release of Roots Revolution from the Niagara Falls, ON natives of Newworldson, there's some healthy competition in the mix.

Newworldson took away Folk/Roots Album of the Year and New Artist of the Year, and another stand out was Canadian member of Relient K, Matt Thiessen winning Modern Rock/Alternative Song of the Year for composing "Must Have Done Something Right".

Below is a sample of the 2007 winners, for more information please visit

29th Annual Covenant Awards Winners

Folk/Roots Song Of The Year: Everybody Wants Everything ,Carolyn Arends (Songwriters: Chris Jonat and Carolyn Arends)

Hard Music Song Of The Year: Lifegiver, Stereotrap (Songwriters: Stereotrap)

Inspirational Song Of The Year: Come To The Cross, Stephanie Israelson (Songwriters: Stephanie Israelson and Andrew Horrocks)

Modern Rock/Alternative Song Of The Year: Must Have Done Something Right, Relient K (Songwriter: Matt Thiessen)

Pop/Contemporary Song Of The Year: I Want You, Carried Away (Songwriters: Carried Away)

Praise And Worship Song Of The Year: Holy God, Brian Doerksen (Songwriter: Brian Doerksen)

Rap/Hip Hop Song Of The Year : Bounce, Manafest (Songwriter: Manafest)

Rock Song Of The Year : The Hand That Holds The World, Starfield (Songwriters: Tim Neufeld, Jon Neufeld, Matt Bronleewe and Jason Ingram)

Urban/R&B/Soul Song Of The Year : Shine, Drew Brown (Songwriter: Drew Brown)

Folk/Roots Album Of The Year : Roots Revolution, Newworldson

Inspirational Album Of The Year : Free To Worship, Evangeline Inman

Modern Rock/Alternative Album Of The Year: Five Score And Seven Years Ago, Relient K

Pop/Contemporary Album Of The Year: Searching, Sebastian Demrey

Praise And Worship Album Of The Year : Holy God, Brian Doerksen

Rap/Hip Hop Album Of The Year: Glory, Manafest

Rock Album Of The Year: Adam Farrell, Adam Farrell

Urban/R&B/Soul Album Of The Year : Oh My Soul, Kathie Morrow

Video Of The Year: Push, Christine Evans

Album Of The Year : Holy God, Brian Doerksen

Recorded Song Of The Year: The Hand That Holds The World, Starfield

Song Of The Year: Holy God, Brian Doerksen (Songwriter: Brian Doerksen)

Producer Of The Year: Roy Salmond

New Artist Of The Year : Newworldson

Group Of The Year : Starfield

Female Vocalist Of The Year : Amanda Falk

Male Vocalist Of The Year: Brian Doerksen

Artist Of The Year : Brian Doerksen

Blessings Fan Choice Award : Starfield

Writer: Soul Shine Staff



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.