Polaris Prize Nominees Revealed

Published: 2007-07-12
The nominees for the 2007 Polaris Music Prize have been announced with some of the biggest names in Canadian music making the cut this year.

There are 10 nominees in all, including several Montreal-based acts: the Arcade Fire's Neon Bible, The Dears' Gang of Losers, Patrick Watson's Close to Paradise, The Besnard Lakes' The Besnard Lakes are the Dark Horse and Miracle Fortress' Five Roses. Nova Scotia's Feist with The Reminder and Joel Plaskett Emergency's Ashtray Rock also have nods and the rest of the nominations are rounded out by Julie Doiron's Woke Myself Up, the Junior Boys' So This is Goodbye, and Chad VanGaalen's Skelliconnection.

Akin to the Mercury Music Prize in the U.K., the Polaris Music Prize is an annual award given to the best Canadian record of the current year and is based on artistic merit, rather than popularity or sales. It is sponsored by the Canadian Recording Industry Association, Radio Starmaker Fund, Sirius Satellite Radio and Rogers.

The voting panel is made of up 200 Canadian music journalists and industry experts and the winner, which will be announced on September 24th, will receive $20,000.

Writer: Stephanie Ng Wan



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.