Guilt By Association Compilation Released

Published: 2007-05-08
Engine Room Recordings is about to release an album called Guilt By Association. The concept of the album is your favorite mainstream songs reworked by major label turned indie musicians.

Artist that are being covered on the album are, Oasis, Journey, Shania Twain, Mariah Carey and the Spice Girls. The indie artists are, Devendra Banhart, Mike Watt, Mooney Suzuki and others. The project itself has been five years in the making with the guidance of Randall Poster (The Royal Tenenbaums, Velvet Goldmine) and Jim Dunbar (Life Aquatic, The School of Rock).

In a statement, Wes Verhoeve of Engine Room spoke about the initial idea, "A lot of really great bands were being dropped from the major labelsÖand we thought it would be a cool idea to have bands like that cover some of the acts that were actually being supported by the majors. The bands that were approached were all very enthused by the whole concept, and many of them even had a song in mind right away."

Here is the track listing:

1. Don't Stop Believin' (Journey)-Petra Haden
2. Don't Look Back in Anger (Oasis)-Devendra Banhart
3. From This Moment On(Shania Twain)-Mark Mulcahy
4. Straight Up (Paula Abdul)-The Concretes
5. Back for Good (Take That)-The Concretes
6. Viva Forever (Spice Girls)-Jim O'Rourke
7. Sugar We're Going Down (Fall Out Boy)-Goat
8. Can't Take That Away (Mariah Carey)-Will Oldham/Bonnie "Prince" Billy
9. Love's Theme (Love Unlimited Orchestra)-Woody Jackson
10. Breaking Free (High School Musical)-Porter Block
11. Just Like Jesse James (Cher)-Mooney Suzuki
12. Two Tickets to Paradise (Eddie Money)-Geoff Farina
13. Chop Suey (System of a Down)-Casey Shea
14. Say My Name (Destiny's Child)-Superchunk
15. Burning For You (Blue Oyster Cult)-Mike Watt

To listen to some of the track please visit

Writer: Lindsey Peterson



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.