CARAS Scores A Hit With 2004 Juno Awards

Published: 2004-04-05
The Juno Awards weekend kicked off with a hockey game between former NHL players and the Canadian rock stars. The rockers had to face the music that the pros were in the zone and that as musicians they shouldn't quit their day job. Former NHL tough guy Tiger Williams provided some comic relief and earned the musicians some penalty shots in the process. Rockers coach Kathleen Edwards placed a stick man in the goalie position. While the NHL team scored into the double digits, Sam Roberts' drummer Corey Zadoronzy held his own defending the goal.

In the end, as expected, the NHL team came out a head 12 to 8, but it was the music students in Canada who are the real winners as over $200,000 was raised at the event.

Sam Roberts has already issued a challenge for a re-match at the Junos next year in Winnipeg.

Many of the Juno Awards presented this year – 29 – were done at a gala dinner on Saturday night. Only nine awards were presented during the televised event. Much of the evening was dedicated to showcasing Canadian musical talent with a total of 15 performances including show host Alanis Morissette and Fan Choice winners Nickelback. The first performance and award of the evening went to Nickelback.

The big winner of the evening were Sam Roberts who took home three Junos. The Montreal native won in every category he was nominated.

While the Grammy awards may have overlooked hip-hop artist 50 Cent, the Junos didn't. The artist took home the trophy for the international recording.

A list of the winners follows:

Single of the Year
"Powerless (Say What You Want") by Nelly Furtado

Doritos Fan's Choice

Album of the Year
"We Were Born in a Flame" by Sam Roberts

Group of the Year

New Group of the Year
Billy Talent

Songwriter of the Year
Sarah McLachlan

Rock Album of the Year
"We Were Born in a Flame" by Sam Roberts

R&B/ Soul Recording of the Year
"The Master Plan" by In Essence

International Album of the Year
"Get Rich or Die Tryin'" by 50 Cent

Francophone Album of the Year
"Wilfred Le Bouthillier" by Wilfred Le Bouthillier

Instrumental Album of the Year
"Italian Love Songs" by I Sorenti

New Artist of the Year
Michael Buble'

Country Recording of the Year
"Up!" by Shania Twain

Rap Recording of the Year
"Flagrant" by Choclair

Pop Recording of the Year
"Afterglow" by Sarah McLachlan

Jazz Vocal Recording of the Year
"Shade" by Holly Cole

Contemporary Jazz Recording of the Year
"Blow the House Down" by Great Uncles of the Revolution

Traditional Jazz Album of the Year
"Lost in the Stars" by Guido Basso

Children's Album of the Year
"A Duck in New York City" by Connie Kaldor

Classical Album for solo or chamber ensemble
"Murphy, Chan, Hatzis, Kulescha: Canadian Premieres by Gryphon Trio.

Classical Album for large ensemble
"Concertos: Music of Jacques Hetu, Andre Laplante, Christopher Millard, Robert Cram, Joaquin Valdepenas" by the CBC Radio Orchestra, Maria Benardi conductor

Classical Album of the Year
"Azulao" by Isabel Bayrakdarian, James Parker, Cello Ensemble

Classical Composition of the Year
"String Quartet No. 8" by R. Muray Schafer

Alternative Album of the Year
"Talkin' Honky Blues" by Buck 65

Dance Recording of the Year
"Something About Your" by The Sound Bluntz

Reggae Recording of the Year
"Rent a Tile" by Leroy Brown

Aboriginal Recording of the Year
"Big Feeling" by Susan Aglukark

Roots and Traditional Solo Album of the Year
"Skating Rink" by David Francey

Roots and Tradition Group Album of the Year
"Maudite Moisson" by Le Vent du Nord

Blues Album of the Year
"Painkiller"by Morgan Davis

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year
"Jill Paquette" by Jill Paquette

World Music Album of the Year
"Beyond Boundries" by Kiran Ahluwalia

Producer of the Year
Gavin Brown for "Try Honesty" by Billy Talent and "I Hate Everything About You" by Three Days Grace

Recording Engineer of the Year
Mike Haas, Dylan Heming, Jeff Wolpert for "Heat Wave" and "Something Cool" by Holly Cole

Album Design of the Year
Garnet Armstron, Susan Michaels, Andrew MacNaughtan for "Love is Only a Soldier" by Jann Arden

Video of the Year
Floria Sigismondi by "Fighter" by Christine Aguilera

Music DVD of the Year
Rush for "Rush in Rio"

The Walter Grealis Special Achievement Award went to Walter Grealis himself. The presentation was made by Anne Murray

Producer Bob Ezrin was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. The presentation was made by Alice Cooper

Writer: Sherrill Fulghum



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.