ECMA 2007 Announce Nominees

Published: 2006-12-13
The East Coast Music Association have announced their 2007 East Coast Music Award nominees and leading the list with five nominations are Nova Scotia's George Canyon and JP Cormier.

Canyon picked up nominations in the following categories: FACTOR Recording of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, Male Solo Recording of the Year, Vibe Creative Group Country Recording of the Year and Video of the Year.

Cormier was nominated for Male Solo Recording of the Year, Bluegrass Recording of the Year, DVD of the Year, Instrumental Recording of the Year and Folk Recording of the Year.

Next on the list with four nominations each are In-Flight Safety, Jill Barber and Ron Hynes. Charlie A' Court, the Chucky Danger Band, Joel Plaskett, Sloan and the Trews each picked up three nominations.

"The 2007 East Coast Music Award nominees include many new and rising artists, along with several stars who have firmly established themselves within the Canadian music industry. The nominees reflect a truly dynamic and vibrant community of musicians and artists," said Marc Chouinard, chair of the East Coast Music Association. "The East Coast Music Awards continue to be a celebration of this region's wealth of talent, once again bringing East Coast music into a national and international spotlight."

Award nominees are chosen by juries of industry professionals from all five regions of the East Coast Music Association: P.E.I., New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador, mainland Nova Scotia and Cape Breton.

The Entertainer of the Year award is chosen by the general public, with voting to begin on January 10th, 2007. Alongside George Canyon, Ron Hynes and the Trews, this year's nominees include Lennie Gallant and Blou. Details on how the public can cast their ballot will be made available closer to that date.

The 2007 ECMAs will take place in Halifax, Nova Scotia, from February 15 to18 and will culminate in the ECMA Gala Awards Show, broadcast on CBC Television, Sunday, February 18, starting at 8 p.m. in all time zones (8:30 NT).

For more information on the ECMAs, please visit

Writer: Stephen Clare



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.