Matt Mays and El Torpedo Rule the ECMA

Published: 2006-03-02
Dartmouth Nova Scotia natives Matt Mays & El Torpedo rocked the East Coast Music Awards on February 27. Not only did they perform their hit single "Cocaine Cowgirl" to the crowd at the Charlottetown Civic Centre but they scooped up four awards including best album, best rock recording, best group and best single.

Though they took home the most, they were not the only ones to go home winners at the 18th annual awards show. Canadian rocker Joel Plaskett and folk musician Mary Jane Lamond took home two awards a piece. According to Chartattack, "Natalie MacMaster performed a musical tribute to her uncle, Buddy MacMaster, who received the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award. Sarah McLachlan received a special achievement award in a pre-taped segment."

Aside from Matt Mays & El Torpedo and fellow winner Lamond, performances by The Chucky Danger Band, The Novaks, Wintersleep and Lennie Gallant also rocked the house.

Aside from the music hosts, Ricky, Julian and Bubbles, otherwise known as the Trailer Park Boys were a definite highpoint of the evening.

To find out who won the rest of the awards, check out:

Writer: Michelle Garcia

    Photo:Melissa Martin


Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.