New Edition Reunites Again

Published: 2006-01-18
All six members of 80s boy-band New Edition are getting back together for a tour, but not until 2008.

The group, originally made up of Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronnie De Voe, Ralph Trevant, and Bobby Brown, was a boy-band-type group modelled after the Jackson 5. They were famous for their bubble-gum-pop sound on tunes like "Candy Girl" and "Cool It Now" and were known for being the forerunners of later boy bands like New Kids on the Block and the Backstreet Boys.

In the mid-80s Bobby Brown left the group and was replaced by Johnny Gill, and the band developed a less pop and more R&B sound. The group's members went their separate ways in 1989 but reunited in 1996 for the album Home Again. After a tumultuous tour, the band separated again, only to reunite minus Bobby in 2004.

On January 15th, Bel Biv DeVoe, a group with three members of New Edition, were performing at the Body and Soul R&B show in Atlantic City when fellow New Edition-member Bobby Brown joined them on stage and they announced that all six members would be back for a tour in the future.

No word on when or if an album will be released.

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.