Coldcut Completes a New Platter

Published: 2006-01-04
Pioneering British electro-dance outfit Coldcut is coming out with a brand new album after nearly nine years of silence.

The duo of UK DJs Jonathan Moore and Matt Black released their last album, Let Us Play, in 1997. The pair came together in the mid 80s, and some say they began the 90s trend towards electronic dance.

Since then the band has also started its own record label, Ninja Tune, which will be releasing Coldcut's upcoming album, Sound Mirrors, later this month in the UK and in February in North America.

Though the album has yet to be released, the band has already planned the record's first four singles. The first tune from the disc, "Everything is Under Control," is currently available on iTunes, and the second single, "Man in a Garage," will drop on January 9th. "True Skool" will come out in April and "Walk a Mile" in June.

These are all the tunes you can expect on the new disc:
01 Man in a Garage (featuring John Matthias)
02 True Skool (featuring Roots Manuva)
03 Just for the Kick (featuring Annette Peacock)
04 Walk a Mile in My Shoes (featuring Robert Owens)
05 Mr Nichols (featuring Saul Williams)
06 A Whistle and a Prayer (featuring Andrew Broder)
07 Everything Is Under Control (featuring Jon Spencer and Mike Ladd)
08 Boogieman (featuring Amiri Baraka)
09 Aid Dealer (featuring Soweto Kinch)
10 This Island Earth (featuring Mpho Skeef)
11 Colours the Soul (featuring Dom Spitzer)
12 Sound Mirrors

Since the guys have been out of the spotlight for so long, they're supporting their album release with a tour that begins in Europe later this month. They won't be hopping across the pond until May, but when they get here they'll be making a couple of stops in Canada:

May 5, Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom
May 12, Toronto, ON - Opera House

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.