Richard Thompson box set

Published: 2005-12-08
British musician Richard Thompson is putting together a massive set of his music, spanning a career that began in the 60s.

The folk musician and former member of Fairport Convention has had a hand in putting together this huge compilation of his music including live performances, oddities and covers, and even a remake of Britney Spears' "Oops I Did It Again."

RT: The Life and Music of Richard Thompson will hit stores on February 6th and include five CDs, but if you're one of the first 5000 people to get your grubby hands on it, you'll get a sixth disc through a mail-in. Everyone will also get a 168-page booklet with lots of juicy info about the set's incredible 85 tracks (102 including disc six).

Disc One: "Walking the Long Miles Home: Muswell Hill to L.A."
01 Now That I Am Dead
02 Genesis Hall
03 Josef Locke
04 Willy O'Winsbury
05 Don't Sit on My Jimmy Shands
06 Nobody's Wedding
07 Madonna's Wedding
08 Walking the Long Miles Home
09 Withered and Died
10 Beat the Retreat
11 The Great Valerio
12 Walking on a Wire
13 Never Again
14 The End of the Rainbow
15 King of Bohemia
16 Killerman Gold Posse
17 Lotteryland
18 Now Be Thankful
19 Shoot out the Lights
20 Outside of the Inside

Disc Two: "Finding Better Worlds: the Essential Richard Thompson"
01 I Feel So Good
02 Push and Shove
03 Time to Ring Some Changes
04 Cooksferry Queen
05 Waltzing's for Dreamers
06 I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight
07 I Misunderstood
08 Meet on the Ledge
09 Down Where the Drunkards Roll
10 Gethsemane
11 Tear-Stained Letter
12 Wall of Death
13 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
14 From Galway to Graceland
15 Crazy Man Michael
16 Dimming of the Day
17 Beeswing

Disc Three: "Shine in the Dark: Epic Live Workouts"
01 Valerie
02 Don't Let a Thief Steal into Your Heart
03 Ghosts in the Wind
04 Crash the Party
05 For Shame of Doing Wrong
06 Calvary Cross
07 Sloth
08 Night Comes In
09 Drowned Dog, Black Night
10 Put It There, Pal
11 Morris Medley/Flying Saucers

Disc Four: "Songs Pour Down Like Silver: Covers and Sessions"
01 Substitute
02 Tempted
03 (The Story of) Hamlet
04 Oops, I Did It Again
05 Ca Plane Pour Moi
06 Why Don't Women Like Me?
07 Time Has told Me
08 Shenandoah
09 Danny Boy
10 Move It
11 Willie and the Hand Jive/Not Fade Away
12 Loch Lomond
13 Job of Journeywork
14 Napoleon's Dream
15 Sally Rackett
16 God Loves a Drunk
17 The Angels Took My Racehorse Away
18 Poseidon
19 Wall of Death
20 You'll Never Walk Alone
21 I Ain't Marching Anymore
22 The Who Medley

Bonus Disc Five: "Something Here Worth More Than Gold: Real Rarities"
01 Albion Sunrise
02 How Many Times
03 Bad News Is All the Wind Can Carry
04 Mrs. Rita
05 Shady Lies
06 Lucky in Love
07 Dragging the River
08 Alexander Graham Bell
09 Someone Else's Fancy
10 Modern Woman
11 Woman or a Man
12 My Daddy Is a Mummy
13 You Got You Wanted
14 In Over Your Head
15 Dear Janet Jackson

Mail-in Bonus Disc Six: "RT on FR"
01 Meet on the Ledge
02 When I Get to the Border
03 I Want to See the Bright Lights
04 We Sing Hallelujah
05 The Hangman's Reel
06 Albion Sunrise
07 Sir Patrick Spens
08 New St. George
09 Sword Dance/Young Black Cow
10 The Lady Is a Tramp
11 Farewell, Farewell
12 Meet on the Ledge
13 Gas Almost Works
14 Withered & Died
15 Has He Got a Friend for Me?
16 End of the Rainbow
17 Beeswing

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.