Miles Davis Opens 'The Cellar Door'

Published: 2005-12-05
A massive box set by legendary jazz trumpeter Miles Davis will be released on the eve of 2006.

The six-disc set, called The Cellar Door Sessions 1970, includes tunes from a four-night stint in Washington, DC. The backing band on the discs is made up of keyboardist Keith Jarrett, percussionist Airto Moreiera, drummer Jack DeJohnette, saxophonist Gary Bartz, and bassist Michael Henderson.

It also includes exclusive never-released photos of the jazz musician as well as essays written by each of the band members about the four nights.

But be careful, as the set includes Sony's copy-protection "features"...

Here are the songs that you may be stuck listening to on a regular CD player.

December 16, 1970:
01 Directions
02 Yesternow
03 What I Say
04 Improvisation #1
05 Inamorata

December 17, 1970:
06 What I Say
07 Honky Tonk
08 It's About Time
09 Improvisation #2
10 Inamorata
11 Sanctuary

December 18, 1970:
12 Directions
13 Honky Tonk
14 What I Say
15 Directions
16 Honky Tonk
17 What I Say
18 Sanctuary
19 Improvisation #3
20 Inamorata

December 19, 1970:
21 Directions
22 Honky Tonk
23 What I Say
24 Directions
25 Improvisation #4
26 Inamorata
27 Sanctuary
28 It's About Time

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.