Lennon Gives Digital a Chance

Published: 2005-11-09
Musical icon John Lennon's solo material is finally being made available in digital formats.

This week songs from his recent retrospective CD Working Class Hero: The Definitive Lennon have been made available. The balance of his post-Beatles work will make it to bits and bytes on December 5th if you live in the UK and December 6th if you live in North America.

The tunes on Working Class Hero run as follows:

Disc 1
1. "(Just Like) Starting Over"
2. "Imagine"
3. "Watching the Wheels"
4. "Jealous Guy"
5. "Instant Karma!"
6. "Stand By Me" (Ben E. King/Jerry Lieber/Mike Stoller)
7. "Working Class Hero"
8. "Power to the People"
9. "Oh My Love" (John Lennon/Yoko Ono)
10. "Oh Yoko!"
11. "Nobody Loves You (When You're Down and Out)"
12. "Nobody Told Me"
13. "Bless You"
14. "Come Together (Live)" (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
15. "New York City"
16. "I'm Stepping Out"
17. "You Are Here"
18. "Borrowed Time"
19. "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" (John Lennon/Yoko Ono)
Disc 2
1. "Woman"
2. "Mind Games"
3. "Out of the Blue"
4. "Whatever Gets You Thru the Night"
5. "Love"
6. "Mother"
7. "Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)"
8. "Woman Is the Nig*** of the World" (John Lennon/Yoko Ono)
9. "God"
10. "Scared"
11. "#9 Dream"
12. "I'm Losing You"
13. "Isolation"
14. "Cold Turkey"
15. "Intuition"
16. "Give Me Some Truth"
17. "Give Peace a Chance"
18. "Real Love"
19. "Grow Old with Me"

"I am very happy that John's music is now available to a new generation of music fans, Lennon's widow, Yoko Ono, told Billboard. "New technology is something he always embraced and this is something he would have loved."

However the switch to new technology may not make the tunes as available as you may think, because they still won't be available on the largest digital music store, iTunes, due to legal battles between Apple Computer and the Beatles former record label, Apple Corps Ltd.

No Beatles music is currently available for download at iTunes.

Writer: Michelle Garcia



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.