Elton John Steps Into Christmas Via Starbucks

Published: 2005-10-31
Following the lead of artists such as Alanis Morissette, Bob Dylan and The Rolling Stones, Elton John has struck a deal with coffee giant Starbucks to exclusively distribute his newest CD. The disc, a Christmas compilation CD put together by John, will be available only at Starbucks' many, many locations throughout November.

Festively entitled Elton John's Christmas Party, the album will contain 21 tracks including Sir Elton's 1973 Yuletide classic "Step Into Christmas" and a newly-recorded duet with Joss Stone named "Calling It Christmas". The rest of the album will be made up of some of John's favourite seasonal songs by other artists, including Chuck Berry's "Run Rudolph Run", Rufus Wainwright's "Spotlight On Christmas" and U2's "New Year's Day". Surprising choices among the set include Outkast's "Playa's Ball" and "Feliz Navidad" as sung by the "Mexican Elvis", El Vez.

The busy Sir Elton has many other projects on the go at the mo', including a brief US tour kicking off this week, a special CD/DVD edition of his 2004 album, Peachtree Road, to be released November 22, not to mention the debut of his musical (co-written by Bernie Taupin), Lestat, on December 17 in San Francisco.

The track listing for Elton John's Christmas Party is:

1. Step Into Christmas - Elton John
2. Feliz Navidad - El Vez
3. Frosty The Snowman - The Ronettes
4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - Bruce Springsteen
5. The Man with All the Toys - The Beach Boys
6. A Change at Christmas (Say It Isn't So) - The Flaming Lips
7. It Doesn't Often Snow At Christmas - Pet Shop Boys
8. Spotlight On Christmas - Rufus Wainwright
9. Jingle Bell Rock - The Ventures
10. Run Rudolph Run - Chuck Berry
11. Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer - The Crystals
12. Playa's Ball - OutKast
13. Merry Christmas Baby - Otis Redding
14. Christmas Island - Jimmy Buffett
15. St. Patrick's Day - John Mayer
16. Please Come Home For Christmas - The Eagles
17. Christmas Must Be Tonight - the Band
18. 2000 Miles - the Pretenders
19. December Will Be Magic Again - Kate Bush
20. New Year's Day - U2
21. Calling It Christmas - Elton John & Joss Stone

Writer: Neil McDonald



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.