East Coast Music Awards (ECMA) Winners

Published: 2004-02-16
Musicians from Canada's Atlantic Coast had a packed house at the Mile One Stadium in St. Johns rocking Sunday night at the 2004 East Coast Music Awards. The portion of the ceremony that aired live on CBC-TV and Radio showcased as many performers as it did ECMA nominations and winners. Music and the latest in scantily clad fashions was the focus of the evening. Canadian Prime Minister Paul Martin was not only in attendance at the show; but he also participated in a little comedy with the shows hosts Shaun Majumder and Mark Critch.

The awards show on Sunday evening was the culmination of four days of festivities involving workshops, banquets, and performances. The big winners for the evening was Crush who won in all five categories they had been nominated including the fan chosen Entertainer of the Year Award. Band member Paul Lamb said, "It's the fans that count." New artist winner Matt Mays also received a $5,000 cheque from Galaxie as a part of the award. Mays plans on using the money to buy some gear for his band El Torpedo. Newfoundland's musical ambassadors Great Big Sea performed the single "When I Am King" from their new release "Something Beautiful". Later the band presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Ryan's Fancy.

The 2004 East Coast Music Award winner list.
Aboriginal Recording of the Year
Welcome to Forever – Forever

African-Canadian Recording of the Year
Only Me – Dutch Robinson

Alternative Recording of the Year
Talkin' Honky Blues – Buck 65

Bluegrass Recording of the Year
The Shores of Nova Scotia – Birch Mountain Bluegrass Band

Blues Recording of the Year
Live At Last – Matt Minglewood

Children's Recording of the Year
Computer Cat – Donna & Andy

Classical Recording of the Year
Stravinsky: Works for Violin and Piano – Jasper Wood

Country Recording of the Year
Get Back Change – Ron Hynes

FACTOR Album of the Year
Get Back Change – Ron Hynes

Female Artist of the Year
Damhnait Doyle

Gospel Recording of the Year
A Burke Family Christmas – The Burkes

Group of the Year

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Infectious – Richard Wood

Jazz Recording of the Year
HavanaFax Live – Jeff Goodspeed & Jorge Chicoy
Male Artists of the Year
Jimmy Rankin

New Artist/Group of theYear
Matt Mays

NewCap Rock Recording of the Year
Face in the Crowd – Crush

Pop Recording of the Year
Davnet – Damhnait Doyle

Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year
Can't Be the Same – Ennis Sisters

Roots/Traditional Solo Recording of the Year
Handmade – Jimmy Rankin

Single of the Year
King for a Day – Crush

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year
Cary Tetford & Gordie Sampson (King for a Day – Crush)

Telegram/Transcontinental Entertainer of the Year

Urban Recording of the Year
I Took the Long Way Home – Dutch Robinson

Video of the Year
The Rest of My Life – Sloan

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ryan's Fancy

Writer: Sherrill Fulghum



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.