Juno Nominations

Published: 2004-02-15
Due to an error one name was missing from the list of nominations for Album of the Year. The Album of the Year category now has six nominees. With the addition of Nickelback to the list, the group now has five nominations which ties them with Sarah McLachlan and Nelly Furtado at the top of the nominations list.

A complete list of the 2004 Juno Award nomination is listed below.

Single of the Year
Try Honesty - Billy Talent
Powerless - Nelly Furtado
Someday - Nickelback
Innocent - Our Lady Peace
Happy Baby - Shaye

Juno Fan Choice Award (presented by Doritos)
Celine Dion
Avril Lavigne
Sarah McLachlan
Shania Twain

International Album of the Year
Get Rich or Die Tryin' - 50 Cent
Stripped - Christina Aguilera
Metamorphosis - Hilary Duff
Fallen - Evanescence
It Had to Be You…
The Great American Songbook - Rod Stewart

Francophone Album of the Year
Wilfred Le Bouthillier - Wilfred Le Bouthillier
1 Fille: 4 Types - Celine Dion
Reviens - Garou
Don Juan, Un musicial de Felix Gray
Maudit Bordel - Marie Chantel Toupin

Album of the Year
Michael Buble' - Michael Buble'
One Heart - Celine Dion
Folklore - Nelly Furtado
Afterglow - Sarah McLachlan
We Were Born in a Flame - Sam Roberts
The Long Road - Nickelback

Artist of the Year
Shawn Desman
Celine Dion
Nelly Furtado
Sarah McLachlan
Sam Roberts

Group of the Year
Barenaked Ladies
Finger Eleven
La Chicane
Our Lady Peace

Instrumental Album of the Year
Romance - Richard Abel
Stress Less - George Carlaw
Country Christmas - The Covingtons
Un Hommes et son Peche - Michel Cusson
Italian Love Songe - It Sorenti

New Artist of the Year
Michael Buble
Danny Michel
Kinnie Starr

New Group of the Year
Billy Talent
The Dears
Three Days Grace
The Trews

Songwriter of the Year
Kathleen Edwards
Nelly Furtado
Sarah McLachlan
Ron Sexsmith
Hawksley Workman

Country Recording of the Year
Pain to Kill - Terri Clark
Everyone Aboard - Doc Walker
Free - Brad Johner
Living Out Loud - Aaron Lines
Up! - Shania Twain

Rap Recording of the Year
Dark Sunrise - Brass Munk
Flagrant - Choclair
Welcome to Planet IRS - IRS
Tom Stokes Presents the ClasSix Plus Six - Mr. Roam
Natural Progression - Sweatshop Union

Pop Album of the Year
Everything to Everyone - Barenaked Ladies
Barlow - Barlow
Folklore - Nelly Furtado
Afterglow - Sarah McLachlan
Falling Uphill - Lillix

Rock Album of the Year
Billy Talent - Billy Talent
We Swat Blood - Danko Jones
The Long Road - Nickelback
We Were Born in a Flame - Sam Roberts
Does This Look Infected - Sum 41

Vocal Jazz Recording of the Year
Firm Roots - Jeri Brown
Shade - Holly Cole
Maple Groove - Ranee Lee
Denzal Sinclaire - Denzal Sinclaire
The Language of Love - Carol Welsman

Contemporary Jazz Recording of the Year
Indefinate Time - Francois Bourassa Quartet
Blow the House Down - Great Uncles of the Revolution
Suite for New York - D. D. Jackson
Strut - Michael Kaeshammer
Chronic - Metalwood

Traditional Jazz Recording of the Year
Lost in the Stars - Guido Basso
Duologua - Mike Murley & David Occhipinti
One Take – Volume One - One Take
Caf╚; Varze' Jazz - Sandro Dominelli Quintet
Standards - John Stetch

Children's Album of the Year
Like A Flower to he Sun - Jack Grunsky
A Duck in New York City - Connie Kaldor
Sin Out Summer Fun - Mary Lambert
Dodo la planete do –
Dream Song Night Song 2 - Pelican Music Project
The Children of Lir - Lorretto Reid

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber Orchestra
L'Ensemble des Idee's heureuses
Gryphon Trio
Marc-Andre' Hamelin
Angela Hewitt
Mozart * Zukerman Pinchas Zukerman, etc.

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble or Solo with a Large Ensemble
Concertos: Music of Jacques Hetu
Concertos: Natthieu, Addinsell, Gershwin
Bach Orchestral Suites
Mozart Noir
Nino Rota: La Strada

Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral Performance
Chants d'Auvergne
Ideal: Songs of Paolo Tosti
Handel: Love Duets
Chants Sacre's et Profanes

Classical Composition
Norma Beecroft
Christos Hatzis
Jacques Hetu
R. Murray Schafer Credo
R. Murray Schafer String Quarter No 8

Alternative Album of the Year
Talkin' Honky Blues - Buck 65
Shine A Light - Constantines
Truthfully, Truthfully - Joel Plaskitt
Heart - Stars
Reconstruction Site - The Weakerthans

Dance Recording of the Year
I Know - Audrey
Chimera - Delerium
All That I Like - M. C. Mario
Give You Love - Original 3
Something About You - The Sound Bluntz

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Pimpin' Life - Big Black Lincoln
The Master Plan - In Essence
Back For More - Glenn Lewis
(f/Kardinal Offishall)
Officially Missing You - Tamia
X-Quisite - X-Quisite

Reggae Recording of the Year
Smile - Blessed
Rent A Tile - Leroy Brown
Tease Me - Dezzie
Homies Girl - Carl Henry
Nana's Medley Part 2 - Nana McLean

Aboriginal Recording of the Year
Big Feeling - Susan Aglukark
Burnt Project/ "The Avenue" - Burnt
Mother Earth - Eagle & Hawk
Ketwam - Sandy Scofield
In Honour of Percy Dreaver - Whitefish Jrs

Roots and Traditional Album of the Year: Solo
You've Never Seen Everything - Bruce Cockburn
Book of Days - Susan Crowe
Skating Rink - David Francey
Blueprint - Natalie MacMaster
Oh Susanna - Oh Susanna

Roots and Traditional Album of the Year: Group
BARK - Blackie & and the Rodeo Kings
J'ai jamais tant ri - La Battine Souriante
Blue Drag - Pierre Schyer Band
Maudit Moisson - Le Vent du Nord

Blues Album of the Year
Roll it Down - Ray Bonneville
Painkiller - Morgan Davey
Live at Deer Lake - David Gogo
Sweet Taste - Harrison Kennedy
Jubilee - Harry Manx & Kevin Breit

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year
Shine Like Stars - Bec Abbot
Forward to Forever - Jody Cross
So Much for Substitutes - Downhere
Jill Paquette - Jill Paquette
Forgiveness - Jim Witter

World Music Album of the Year
Beyond Boundries - Kiran Ahluwalia
Nomad - Jesse Cook
Sweet Return - Flying Bulgar Klezmer Band
Intakto - Intakto
The Living road - Lhasa

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year
Malcolm Burn
Gavin Brown
Joao Caralo
Daniel Lanois
Pierre Marchand

Recording Engineer of the Year
Claude Champagne
Mike Haas/Dylan Heming/Jeff Walpert
Warne Livesey
Dean Maher
Adam Samuels

Album Design of the Year
Love is the Only Soldier - Jann Arden
Handmade - Jimmy Rankin
Talkin' Honky Blues - Buck 65
Battle of the Nudes - Gord Downie
Jubilee - Harry Manx and Kevin Breit

Video of the Year
Heaven Only Knows - K-os
Into Your Hideout - Pilate
Stars and Sons - Broken Social Scene
Fighter - Christina Aguilera
Untitled - Sigur Ros

Music DVD of the Year
Avril Lavigne - My World
Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps
Our Lady Peace - Our Lady Peace Live
Simple Plan - Big Package For You 1999-2003
Rush - Rush in Rio

Writer: Sherrill Fulghum



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.