Juno Nominees Announced

Published: 2004-02-12
The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences has announced the nominees for the 2004 Juno Awards. Singers Sarah McLachlan and Nelly Furtado lead the list with five nominations each. Celine Dion and rockers Nickelback follow close behind with four nominations each.

After being shunned 13 times by the Grammy Award, maybe international rocker Rod Stewart will have better luck with the Juno Awards. Stewart is a nominee in the International Album of the Year category. Stewart is competing against relative newcomers to the business, 50 Cent, Christina Aguilera, Hilary Duff, and Evanescence.

The Academy realizes that their views do not always match those of the music buying public; therefore, they have included a fan's choice award where Canadians may vote for their choice of Artist of the Year. This year's nominees pit one group of guys against four women. They are Celine Dion, Avril Lavigne, Sarah McLachlan, Shania Twain, and rockers Nickelback. Fans may vote via the CTV Juno website. Voting is open until midnight on March 20.

The 2004 Juno Awards will be held on April 4 in Edmonton. CTV will broadcast the event.

Writer: Sherrill Fulghum



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.