The Concretes Compile B-Sides, Lost Material

Published: 2005-06-16
Swedish pop-rockers The Concretes made an international breakthrough with 2004's self-titled album, their first proper full-length. Although the 11-track record was technically their debut, The Concretes have been around a lot longer than that album suggests, and they've got the B-sides to prove it.

The band's own B-side and rarities compilation is due to get a North American release this summer, coming through Astralwerks Records on July 26th. Layourbattleaxedown features songs only available overseas until now, the video to "Say Something New," and the Nationalgeographic EP, whose now-recovered master recordings went missing before its planned release in 2001.

Now that they're done storming the USA, The Concretes are back at work, slowly preparing the follow-up to their eponymous disc. According to the band's website (, it's nowhere near finished yet, and there's no word when the end will come.

The track list of Layourbattleaxedown looks like this:

"Forces" (single)
"Sugar" (Nationalgeographic EP)
"Lady December" (Warm Night EP)
"The Warrior" (Warm Night EP)
"Miss You" (We Love You compilationótribute to the Stones)
"Oh Baby" (Nationalgeographic EP)
"Sand" (Nationalgeographic EP)
"Free Ride" (Nationalgeographic EP)
"Branches" (B-side, "Forces" single)
"Under Your Leaves" (Nationalgeographic EP)
"Seems Fine Shuffle" (Warm Night EP)

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.