My Morning Jacket Prepares New LP

Published: 2005-06-14
It's been quiet on the My Morning Jacket front for a quite a while, but according to a report from, the Southern rockers are well on their way to entering the public consciousness once again. Set for release on September 20th, the follow-up to 2003's well-received It Still Moves has been given the simple name Z.

The track list for the band's fourth LP has yet to be set, but MMJ drummer Patrick Hallahan told Billboard that Z will feature 10 to 11 songs, including "Don Dante," "What a Wonderful Man," and "Off the Record." Sitting behind the boards on the project is British producer John Leckie, who has worked on albums like Stone Roses and Radiohead's The Bends.

Before fans have a chance to get new My Morning Jacket material on disc, however, they'll have an opportunity to check out the new tracks live. The Kentucky five-piece grabbed the opening slot for five of Wilco's North American tour dates, including the Montreal stop on June 28th.

For a full listing of My Morning Jacket's upcoming tour dates, go to

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.