Rhino Reveals Track List of '90s Box Set

Published: 2005-06-08
As previously reported on Soul Shine, Rhino Records is back to its old compiling tricks, this time giving the treatment to the pop culture of the '90s. Between MC Hammer's "U Can't Touch This" and Moby's "Natural," the Whatever: The '90s Pop Culture Box will sandwich 130 songs on seven discs.

Due for release on July 26th, Whatever is the third in a series that also includes Like, Omigod: The '80s Pop Culture Box (Totally) and the '70s edition, Have a Nice Decade. In addition to the huge number of songs, Whatever will come with an 84-page booklet and the obligatory (for the '90s) bag of coffee beans.

"I get knocked down, but I get up again÷" Relive the '90s:

Disc one:
"U Can't Touch This" - MC Hammer
"Nothing Compares 2 U" - Sinead O'Connor
"No Myth" - Michael Penn
"Ladies First" - Queen Latifah, featuring Monie Love
"Ball and Chain" - Social Distortion
"Birdhouse in Your Soul" - They Might Be Giants
"Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns" - Mother Love Bone
"Here's Where the Story Ends" - The Sundays
"Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)" - C&C Music Factory
"Groove Is in the Heart" - Deee-Lite
"Right Here, Right Now" - Jesus Jones
"New Jack Hustler (Nino's Theme)" - Ice-T
"I Touch Myself" - Divinyls
"Unbelieveable" - EMF
"Hard to Handle" - The Black Crowes
"O.P.P." - Naughty By Nature
"Walking in Memphis" - Marc Cohn
"It's So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday" - Boyz II Men

Disc two:
"Silent Lucidity" - Queensryche
"Into the Drink" - Mudhoney
"Girlfriend" - Matthew Sweet
"I'm Too Sexy" - Right Said Fred
"Calling All Angels" - Jane Siberry with k.d. lang
"Only Shallow" - My Bloody Valentine
"It's a Shame About Ray" - The Lemonheads
"Baby Got Back" - Sir Mix-a-Lot
"They Want EFX" - DAS EFX
"Jump" - Kriss Kross
"Walk" - Pantera
"N.W.O." - Ministry
"Shitlist" - L7
"Absynthe" - The Gits
"Coattail Rider" - Supersuckers
"Runaway Train" - Soul Asylum
"Little Miss Can't Be Wrong" - Spin Doctors
"Dizz Knee Land" - dada
"Nearly Lost You" - Screaming Trees

Disc three:
"Under the Bridge" - Red Hot Chili Peppers
"Unsung" - Helmet
"Jump Around" - House of Pain
"Free Your Mind" - En Vogue
"Rump Shaker" - Wreckx-N-Effect
"Informer" - Snow
"Connected" - Stereo MCs
"Detachable Penis" - King Missile
"Freak Me" - Silk
"Ordinary World" - Duran Duran
"If I Can't Change Your Mind" - Sugar
"Three Little Pigs" - Green Jelly
"Start Choppin" - Dinosaur Jr.
"The Devil's Chasing Me" - The Reverend Horton Heat
"Gone to the Moon" - Fastbacks
"My Name is Mud" - Primus
"What's Up" - 4 Non Blondes

Disc four:
"Thunder Kiss '65" - White Zombie
"Whoomp! (There It Is)" - Tag Team
"Broken Hearted Savior" - Big Head Todd and the Monsters
"Trust Me" - Guru with N'Dea Davenport
"Here Comes" - Velocity Girl
"Gepetto" - Belly
"Eye to Eye" - The Muffs
"Gentlemen" - Afghan Whigs
"Leafy Incline" - Tad
"Dream All Day" - The Posies
"Hey Jealousy" - Gin Blossoms
"My Sister" - The Juliana Hatfield Three
"Whatta Man" - Salt-N-Pepa
"Back & Forth" - Aaliyah
"If That's Your Boyfriend (He Wasn't Last Night)" - Me'Shell NdegeOcello
"Freedom of '76" - Ween
"Cut Your Hair" - Pavement
"God" - Tori Amos
"Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm" - Crash Test Dummies
"Possession" - Sarah McLachlan

Disc five:
"Shine" - Collective Soul
"Far Behind" - Candlebox
"You Gotta Be" - Des'ree
"Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon" - Urge Overkill
"She Don't Use Jelly" - The Flaming Lips
"m.i.a." - 7 Year Bitch
"21st Century (Digital Boy)" - Bad Religion
"Sugar Free Jazz" - Soul Coughing
"Mockingbirds" - Grand Lee Buffalo
"What's the Frequency, Kenneth?" - R.E.M.
"Revolve" - Melvins
"Buddy Holly" - Weezer
"Here and Now" - Letters to Cleo
"Good" - Better than Ezra"
"Run-Around" - Blues Traveler
"I'll Be There For You (Theme from Friends)" - The Rembrandts
"Tomorrow" - Silverchair
"Not a Pretty Girl" - Ani DiFranco
"Carnival" - Natalie Merchant

Disc six:
"Wonderall" - Oasis
"Birthday Cake" - Cibo Matto
"Cumbersome" - Seven Mary Three
"One of Us" - Joan Osborne
"Caught by the Fuzz" - Supergrass
"Sweet 69" - Babes in Toyland
"Breakfast at Tiffany's" - Deep Blue Something
"Photograph" - The Verve Pipe
"In the Meantime" - Spacehog
"Woo Ha! Got You All in Check" - Busta Rhymes, featuring Rampage the Last Boy Scout
"Who Will Save Your Soul" - Jewel
"Standing Outside a Broken Phone Both with Money in My Hand" - Primitive Radio Gods
"Cybele's Reverie" - Stereolab
"Capri Pants" - Bikini Kill
"What I Got" - Sublime
"Kung Fu" - Ash
"Virtual Insanity" - Jamiroquai
"Naked Eye" - Luscious Jackson
"Outtasite (Outta Mind)" - Wilco

Disc seven:
"itszoweezee (hot)" - De La Soul
"LoveFool" - The Cardigans
"Radiation Vibe" - Fountains of Wayne
"The Impression That I Get" - The Mighty Mighty Bosstones
"Turn It On" - Sleater-Kinney
"Bitch" - Meredith Brooks
"MMMBop" - Hanson
"Brian Wilson" (live) - Barenaked Ladies
"Brick" - Ben Folds Five
"Sex and Candy" - Marcy Playground
"Walking on the Sun" - Smash Mouth
"Tubthumping" - Chumbawamba
"6 Underground" - Sneaker Pimps
"Lullaby" - Shawn Mullins
"Slide" - Goo Goo Dolls
"Kiss Me" - Sixpence None the Richer
"Steal My Sunshine" - LEN
"What It's Like" - Everlast
"Natural Blues" - Moby

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.