Jason Collett Escapes 'Exile' on New LP

Published: 2005-05-13
He who resurrected the joy of the Radio Mondays series at Toronto's Supermarket, also known as Jason Collett, will soon release a brand new album. Idols of Exile comes out across the country June 28th.

This will be Collett's second album for Arts & Crafts Records, which also happens to be home to Broken Social Scene, of which Collett is a member. Having written the album during his two years of touring with BSS, the singer recorded Idols of Exile last winter with Howie Beck behind the boards.

There are about a million guest spots on the 12-track disc, including pretty much all of the Broken Social Sceners (Kevin Drew, Emily Haines, Feist, et al.), plus one Cash Brother, and the Brown half of Chris Brown and Kate Fenner.

Here's the track list of Idols of Exile:

"Hangover Days"
"Brownie Hawkeye"
"We All Lose One Another"
"Parry Sound"
"I'll Bring The Sun"
"Tinsel and Sawdust"
"Feral Republic"
"Pavement Puddle Stars"
"Almost Summer"
"Pink Night"
"These Are The Days"

In Broken Social Scene news, the celebrated Canadian collective will spend the rest of May, June, and July touring Japan and playing the European festival circuit. They've reserved some time for Canadian festivals, including the Ottawa BluesFest and "Toronto Island," which we'll assume is another edition of last year's highly successful Olympic Island Festival (score!).

Go to www.arts-crafts.ca for more good information in the coming weeks, such as when the next Broken Social Scene record will finally be done.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.