Iggy Pop Retrospective Due in July

Published: 2005-05-10
Mr. Iggy Pop, the "godfather of punk" himself, will release a 37-song retrospective called A Million In Prizes: The Iggy Pop Anthology on July 19th. The definitive double-disc compilation spans the entirety of Pop's career, from his days with The Stooges to a recording with Sum 41 (from 2003's Skull Ring).

Pretty much every vital Iggy Pop song is included on A Million in Prizes, from "1969" off The Stooges' self-titled debut (which was, oddly enough, released in 1969), to "Lust For Life," to his duet "Candy" with Kate Pierson, to the title track from Skull Ring. A DVD featuring footage from the musician's 1999 tour in Belgium also comes with the release.

One of the most interesting figures in rock, Pop has included 21 of his trademark insane live performances on the DVD, titled Live From Avenue B. Although it's safe to say Pop's stage show has toned down some since the '70s, nobody will complain about having a reel of more recent performances of classic Stooges songs on hand.

Still going at it, Iggy Pop is touring this summer, but only in that far off land called Europe.

The track list of A Million In Prizes: The Iggy Pop Anthology is as follows:

Disc one:
"No Fun"
"I Wanna Be Your Dog"
"Down On the Street"
"I Got a Right"
"Gimme Some Skin"
"Search and Destroy"
"Gimme Danger"
"Raw Power"
"Kill City"
"China Girl"
"Sister Midnight"
"Lust For Life"
"The Passenger"

Disc two:
"Some Weird Sin"
"I'm Bored"
"I Need More"
"Run Like a Villain"
"Cry for Love"
"Real Wild Child (Wild One)"
"Cold Metal"
"Well Did You Evah!"
"Wild America"
"TV Eye" (live)
"Loose" (live)
"Look Away"
"I Felt the Luxury"
"Skull Rings"

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.