Camp Freddy Almost Finished Recording Debut Album

Published: 2005-04-21
All-star jam band Camp Freddy has finished the basic tracks for their debut album. All there is left to do now is to lay down some vocals. The band is made up of former Jane's Addiction members Dave Navarro and Chris Chaney, Velvet Revolver drummer Mat Sorum, the Cult's guitarist Billy Morrison, and singer Donovan Leitch.

Camp Freddy is an unconventional project without a record label or management, or even a steady line up, for that matter. All the tracks on the album are covers of the band members' favourite rock songs. Tracks include the Sex Pistols' "God Save the Queen," Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love," T. Rex's "20th Century Boy," David Bowie's "Jean Genie," and the Sweet's "Ballroom Blitz."

Like Camp Freddy's stage show, the album features countless guest appearances by other musicians. Artists such as Jerry Cantrell (Alice in Chains), Macy Gray, Mark McGrath (Sugar Ray), Slash (Guns N' Roses, Velvet Revolver), and possibly Trent Reznor (NIN) and Ozzy Osborne are said to be contributing to the project.

Mike Clink, best known for his work with Guns N' Roses, is producing the album. There is no official release date yet, with the album continually delayed due to conflicting schedules.

Besides working with Camp Freddy, Navarro and Chaney are working on a debut album from their new band The Panic Channel with singer Steve Isaacs and former Jane's Addiction drummer Stephen Perkins.

Writer: Trent McMartin



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.