Gomez Release Live Album in June

Published: 2005-04-12
British blues rockers Gomez left the shores where they are known best, to record their first live album in the US. Taken from a three day run at the Fillmore in San Francisco (January 20th-22nd), "Out West" consists of two-discs with 20 tracks to its name. Not only will "Out West" be Gomez's first live album, but it will also be their first release for ATO Records, due out on June 7th.

Comprised of five members, three of which take on lead singing duties, Gomez covered ground from all of their albums plus a few covers during their San Francisco stint. To date the five-piece has released four studio albums in their nearly 10-year-long career, with every last one receiving a warm reception.

The title-track from the band's 1998 debut "Bring It On" opens up the second disc, while "These 3 Sins" makes it on from Gomez's latest studio effort "Split The Difference" (released May 2004). Also thrown into the mix are a cover of the Nick Drake song "Black Eyed Dog", and (appropriately) a version of Tom Waits' "Going Out West".

The track-listing of "Out West" looks like this:

Disc one:
"Get Miles"
"Shot Shot"
"Going Out West"
"Here Comes The Breeze"
"We Haven't Turned Around"
"Fill My Cup"
"Do One"
"Revolutionary Kind"

Disc two:
"Bring It On"
"Nothing Is Wrong"
"Love Is Better Than a Warm Trombone"
"Do's and Don'ts"
"Black Eyed Dog"/"Free To Run"
"Ping One Down"
"Blue Moon Rising"
"Get Myself Arrested"
"These 3 Sins"
"Make No Sound"
"Whippin' Piccadilly"

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.