Coldplay Put 'X&Y' On Charts In June

Published: 2005-03-14
Coldplay have finally released the goods on their newest studio effort. The album has been given the name "X&Y", and will be available in record stores on June 6th internationally, and the following day in North America. One of the most highly anticipated releases of 2005, "X&Y" is Coldplay's third full-length and the follow-up to 2002's very successful "A Rush of Blood To The Head".

The first single to be lifted from the record is called "Speed of Sound" and will be heard playing on radio across the globe come April. Other song titles that are set to appear on "X&Y" are: "Square One", "White Shadow", "What If", and "Fix You". Last week the band played some of the aforementioned songs at two Los Angeles gigs, which were their first North American gigs of the year.

Coldplay spent the last year working on "X&Y", holed up in the recording studio with producers Danton Supple (Elbow, Morrissey, Starsailor) and Ken Nelson (Badly Drawn Boy, Kings of Convenience). The quartet also played the part of producers, which they also did on their first two albums.

To support "X&Y" Coldplay will be heading out on "their biggest world tour yet", with shows in Britain and Europe announced for June and July. Support for their European leg will come from a variety of acts, including Doves, Supergrass, Elbow, Interpol, and Morning Runner. Word on when Coldplay will make the jump to North America is expected in the next few weeks, so stay tuned to Soul Shine.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.