Sleater-Kinney Reveal Details of New LP

Published: 2005-02-15
Washington trio Sleater-Kinney have finally released all the details of their upcoming release for Sub Pop Records. The effort has been titled "The Woods" and is being aimed for release on May 24th. Although this is Sleater-Kinney's first release for Sub Pop, it's the girls' seventh full-length album in their decade long career.

Featuring 11 new tracks, "The Woods" was produced by Dave Fridmann, who is known for his work with The Flaming Lips, Mogwai, and Low. According to an interview with, "The Woods" has a "heavy" and "organic" sound, and some pretty rocking guitar riffs. It's been nearly three years since the last Sleater-Kinney release "One Beat", which came out on the band's long-time label Kill Rock Stars.

The track-listing for "The Woods" is:

"The Fox"
"What's Mine Is Yours"
"Modern Girl"
"Steep Air"
"Let's call It Love"
"Night Light"

Vancouver will be the site of one of Sleater-Kinney's warm-up dates for the SXSW Festival in March. They'll be in the city on Saturday, February 26th, playing at the Commodore Ballroom. Tickets for the no-minors gig are available through for $17.50.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.