2005 GMA Music Award Nominees Announced

Published: 2005-02-09
Earlier this week the nominees for the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards were announced in Nashville, Tennessee. The awards, also known as the Dove Awards, honour the best in Christian music, and this year's race looks like it's going to be a tight one. CCM veteran Michael W. Smith is off to a running start with 8 nominations, with ace Florida band Casting Crowns not far behind with 7 nods, including one for Song of the Year for the lovely "Who Am I".

Coming in with 6 noms is The Crabb Family, who are, quite obviously, a family act. Crossover hit Switchfoot aren't doing so bad either, with nominations in 5 categories; frontman Jonathon Foreman, who penned Switchfoot songs "Dare You To Move" and "Meant To Live" pulled in another three nods. Acts that have a highly respectable 5 nominations include pop quintet MercyMe, and Chicago singer/songwriter Matthew West.

Out there representing Canada is rock quartet Starfield, who are up for two awards: Rock/Contemporary Album Of The Year, and Special Event Album Of The Year for their involvement with the "In The Name Of Love" record. Check out Soul Shine's interview with the band on the "Features" page of the web site.

After the members of the Gospel Music Association ponder over the choices and make their final voting decisions, the winners of the Dove Awards will be announced on April 13th, with ceremonies taking place at the infamous Grand Ole Opry in Nashville, Tennessee.

Some of the nominees of the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards are:

Song Of The Year:

"Blessed Be Your Name" (Matt Redman)
"Dare You To Move" (Switchfoot)
"Friend of God" (Israel Houghton)
"Glory Defined" (Building 429)
"Healing Rain" (Michael W. Smith)
"Meant To Live" (Switchfoot)
"More" (Matthew Smith)
"Through The Fire" (The Crabb Family)
"Who Am I" (Casting Crowns)
"You Raise Me Up" (Selah)

Male Vocalist Of The Year:

Fernando Ortega
Israel Houghton
Jason Crabb
Jeremy Camp
Mark Hall

Female Vocalist Of The Year:

Bethany Dillon
Christy Nockels
Joy Williams
Natalie Grant
Nicole C. Mullen

Group Of The Year:

Casting Crowns
The Crabb Family

Artist Of The Year:

Casting Crowns
Michael W. Smith

New Artist Of The Year:

Bethany Dillon
Building 429
Day Of Fire
Matthew West

Modern Rock Album Of The Year:

Skillet "Collide"
Sanctus Real "Fight The Tide"
Hawk Nelson "Letters To The President"
Taylor Sorensen "The Overflow"
delirious? "World Service"

Rock/Contemporary Album Of The Year:

BarlowGirl "BarlowGirl"
Building 429 "Space In Between Us"
Starfield "Starfield"
David Crowder "The Lime CD"
Third Day "Wire"

Pop/Contemporary Album Of The Year:

Steven Curtis Chapman "All Things New"
Bethany Dillon "Bethany Dillon"
Matthew West "Happy"
Michael W. Smith "Healing Rain"
MercyMe "Undone"

Praise & Worship Album Of The Year:

Chris Tomlin "Arriving"
Jeremy Camp "Carried Me: The Worship Project"
Newsboys "Devotion"
Phillips, Craig & Dean "Let The Worshippers Arise"
Planetshakers "Open Up The Gates"

For a full list of nominees for the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards, go to: www.gmamusicawards.com.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.