2005 Juno Nominees Announced

Published: 2005-02-08
The nominees for the Juno Awards (y'know the biggest award show within Canadian borders) have finally been announced. It's the Canadian ladies that are leading the pack this year, with pop-punk princess Avril Lavigne grabbing five nods (including Artist Of The Year), and Diana Krall coming in with four.

Of course the boys didn't make too poor a showing. Alternative quartet Billy Talent is up for Album Of The Year and Group Of The Year, while all of the nominees for Rock Album Of The Year are of the male persuasion (Default, Sum 41, The Tea Party, Thornley, and The Tragically Hip). Some of Canada's best offerings to the world are recognized in the Alterative Album Of The Year category: The Arcade Fire, Stars, Feist, A.C. Newman, and Jim Guthrie.

This year's Junos ceremonies will be taking place in Winnipeg, Manitoba on April 3rd. "Corner Gas" comedian Brent Butt will be hosting the show, which will be broadcast over CTV. Acts slated to play the Awards include The Tragically Hip, Neil Young, Billy Talent, k-os, k.d. lang and Simple Plan.

Some of the nominees for the 2005 Juno Awards are:

Album Of The Year:

Billy Talent "Billy Talent"
Celine Dion "Miracle"
Diana Krall "The Girl In The Other Room"
Avril Lavigne "Under My Skin"
Simple Plan "Still Not Getting Any"

Artist Of The Year:

Bryan Adams
Celine DIon
Diana Krall
k.d. lang

Group Of The Year:

Billy Talent
Great Big Sea
Simple Plan
Sum 41
The Tragically Hip

Pop Album Of The Year:

Celine Dion "Miracle"
Fefe Dobson "Fefe Dobson"
Avril Lavigne "Under My Skin"
Ryan Malcolm "Home"
Simple Plan "Still Not Getting Any"

Rock Album Of The Year:

Default "Elocation"
Sum 41 "Chuck"
The Tea Part "Seven Circles"
Thornley "Come Again"
The Tragically Hip "In Between Evolution"

New Artist Of The Year:

Keshia Chante
Fefe Dobson
Matt Dusk
Matt Mays

New Group Of The Year:

Death From Above 1979
The Marble Index
The Waking Eyes

Alternative Album Of The Year:

The Arcade Fire "Funeral"
Feist "Let It Die"
Jim Guthrie "Now, More Than Ever"
A.C. Newman "The Slow Wonder"
Stars "Set Yourself On Fire"

Aboriginal Recording Of The Year:

Wayne Lavallee "Green Dress"
Claude McKenzie "Pishimuss"
Pappy Johns Band with Murray Peter "Full Circle"
Taima "Taima"
Florent Vallant "KATAKu"

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album Of The Year:

Fresh I.E. "Red Letterz"
Aileen Lombardo "Living Water"
Raylene Scarrott "Taken"
Greg Sczebel "Here To Stay"
Thousand Foot Krutch "Phenomenon"

For a full list of nominees, including industry awards, go to: www.junoawards.ca.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.