More Details on British Sea Power LP

Published: 2005-01-21
Eccentric indie rockers British Sea Power are in the final stages of production with their newest album, and as the release date grows nearer more details from the quartet have emerged. Despite their promises to choose an album title from a fan-participated contest, BSP decided to reach into their own minds to come out with 'Open Season'. Though they didn't use any of their fans suggestions, rest assured that the band appreciated their fans' help very much.

Featuring 11 new tracks, 'Open Season' is due to hit shelves on March 21st through Rough Trade records in the United Kingdom. The first single to be lifted from the record is called 'It Ended On An Oily Stage', and will be released on March 7th. 'Open Season' is the quintet's second full-length album; their first was 2003's 'The Decline Of British Sea Power'.

Hoping to avoid the curse of the second album, the mystifying British Sea Power had this to say about their sophomore effort: "We hope that you will grow to love the name 'Open Season' almost as much as you will love the music that goes with it. And, on the basis that even deaf men will dance to these tunes, we feel sure you will love this album."

The track-listing of 'Open Season' is:

'It Ended On An Oily Stage'
'Be Gone'
'How Will I Ever Find My Way Home?'
'Like A Honeycomb'
'Please Stand Up'
'North Hanging Rock'
'To Get To Sleep'
'Victorian Ice'
'Oh Larsen B'
'The Land Beyond'
'True Adventures'

British Sea Power has a spring tour of England and Scotland lined-up in support of 'Open Season', but whether or not the band will once again make the trek to Canada is yet to be seen.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.