2005 East Coast Music Awards Nominees

Published: 2004-12-15
The award season is upon us, and this week the 2005 East Coast Music Award nominations were announced. Celebrating the diverse music that the East Coast has to offer, the ceremonies are set to take place on February 20th, 2005 in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Those who don't live in Sydney don't have to worry about missing the awards as they'll be broadcast live on CBC at 8:00pm in all time zones.

All geared up to host the show is country singer George Canyon, who found his success on the talent search Nashville Search (in which he placed second). Quite a few of Canada's biggest names have been nominated for awards, from rockers The Trews to singer/songwriter Nathan Wiley to alt.country artist Jimmy Rankin.

Halifax-based The Joel Plaskett Emergency, who just wrapped up a tour opening for The Tragically Hip, managed to rope in nominations for some of the bigger awards: 'FACTOR Album of the Year', 'Group of the Year', and 'Rock Recording of the Year'. Favourites Great Big Sea also have been short-listed for some of the more coveted awards including: 'Group of the Year', 'Single of the Year', and 'Video of the Year'.

Some of the other nominees for the 2005 ECMAs are:

FACTOR Album of the Year:

Nathan Wiley for 'High Low'
The Trews for 'House of Ill Fame'
Gordie Sampson for 'Sunburn'
Shaye for 'The Bridge'
The Joel Plaskett Emergency for 'Truthfully Truthfully'

Female Artist of the Year:

'Jill Barber'
'Natalie McMaster'
'Rita MacNeil'
'Susan Crowe'
'Teresa Doyle'

Male Artist of the Year:

'Dave Gunning'
'Gary Beals'
'George Canyon'
'Gordie Sampson'
'Nathan Wiley'

Group of the Year:

Brothers In Stereo
Great Big Sea
The Joel Plaskett Emergency
The Trews

Entertainer of the Year:

George Canyon
Jimmy Rankin
Natalie MacMaster
The Trews

Single of the Year:

Crush for 'Bad Enough'
Jimmy Rankin for 'Butterfly'
Shaye for 'Happy Baby'
The Trews for 'Not Ready To Go'
Gordie Sampson for 'Sunburn'
Great Big Sea for 'When I Am King'

Alternative Recording of the Year:

Julie Doiron for 'Goodnight Nobody'
Nathan Wiley for 'High Low'
Vetch for 'Life Is Not That Hard'
Mars Hill for 'Oxcart'
The Heavy Blinkers for 'The Night and I Are Still So Young'

Country Recording of the Year:

Shanklin Road for 'Don't Forget About The Rain'
Jason Williams for 'It's What I Do'
Brian Mallery for 'Message From Above'
George Canyon for 'One Good Friend'
Terry Penney for 'The Struggle'

Pop Recording of the Year:

Barry Canning for 'Last Man Standing'
Great Big Sea for 'Something Beautiful'
Gordie Sampson for 'Sunburn'
Shaye for 'The Bridge'
Madviolet for 'Worry The Jury'

Rock Recording of the Year:

Three Season Ant for '2 Days After Yesterday'
Mir for '7 Directions'
The Danny Mainstreet Band for 'Bulletproof & Ignorant'
Forever for 'Something To Dream'
The Joel Plaskett Emergency for 'Truthfully Truthfully'

Roots / Traditional Solo Recording of the Year:

Blueprint ( Natalie MacMaster )
Cuts ( Andrea Beaton )
It's About Time ( Allie Bennett )
Jeanny Gear and The Whiskey Kittens ( Jenny Gear )
Vivacious ( Samantha Robichaud )

For the full list of ECMA nominees, including industry nominees, go to www.ecma.ca.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.