Pay Tribute to John Peel This Thursday

Published: 2004-12-14
Last month legendary radio DJ John Peel passed away at the age of 65 while on holiday in Peru. Famous for his 'Peel Sessions' and just general good taste in music, Peel has been one of the most beloved DJs the world has ever known. Since his death numerous musicians and fans have shared their memories of Peel, and now Radio 1, Peel's broadcasting home for nearly four decades, will pay tribute to the man. This Thursday (December 16th) the station will broadcast over 6 hours of material in honour of Peel.

John Peel Night is being hosted by Steve Lamacq, another respected Radio 1 DJ, and will include a one hour documentary on Peel's extraordinary life, live music, and sets from various DJs. The event is set to kick off with documentary 'Teenage Dreams So Hard To Beat', which is named from a line in Peel's all-time favourite song 'Teenage Kicks' by The Undertones. Adding tributes to the doc include the likes of The Undertones, The Cure, New Order, and Supergrass.

The bands that are to add their live sets to the evening are ones that from bands that Peel helped to make famous. Those who are saying their thanks to the DJ include: Gorky's Zygotic Mynci, Stuart Murdoch of Belle & Sebastian, and Graham Coxon. Following this are sets from DJs Underworld and Jon E Cash, among others.

For 37 years North American fans have been jealous of the British for their easy access to Peel, and the upcoming tribute will be no different. The tribute plays from 7pm to 1am in the UK, but due to the lovely time differences between here and there, it's harder to catch in Canada as most people will be working.

On Thursday December 16th Canadians can tune in at:

Pacific Time - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Mountain Time - 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Central Time - 1:00pm to 7:00pm
Eastern Time - 2:00pm to 8:00pm
Atlantic Time - 3:00pm to 9:00pm
Newfoundland Time - 3:30pm to 9:30pm

Thankfully with the internet age comes live radio feed right through your very own computer, getting rid of the need for a transistor. Go to www.bbc.co.uk/radio, and then click 'Listen to Radio 1' for the live broadcast of John Peel Night on Radio 1.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt

   

 

Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.