Motley Crue Reunion

Published: 2004-12-07
Motley Crue have announced that they are reuniting after six years to embark on a world tour in 2005. Bassist Nikki Sixx had denied reunion rumours as recently as October of this year, but it appears as if the full fledged reunion that had been rumour mill fodder for quite some time is a go. All four original members (Nikki Sixx, Vince Neil, Mick Mars and Tommy Lee) will return to the band that spread their raucous, self-destructive, always controversial brand of booze and drug addled mayhem to all corners of the globe in the '80's and early '90's. Tickets for the Red, White and Crue Tour 2005ÖBetter Live Than Dead will go on sale December 11th.

The Crue, who first emerged from the famed Sunset Strip in 1981 with their breakout album, Too Fast For Love, also announced the release of a new anthology album as well as a new single and video entitled If I Die Tomorrow. The reunion tour is largely due to the work of a British concert promoter named Mags Revell, who launched a fan-driven campaign in his native land to have the band reunite and also put a hold on concert venues in the UK for summer 2005 dates in hopes that Motley Crue would make a comeback.

Anyone who has read the Motley Crue biography, The Dirt, knows how dysfunctional relationships within the band have been in the past. Band members came to blows and battled various alcohol and substance abuse problems throughout much of the band's existence. Nikki Sixx injected virtually every drug known to mankind into his veins to the point of near-fatal overdoses on more than one occasion. Tommy Lee was incarcerated for assault. Vince Neil had to deal with the traumatic loss of his daughter as well as a brief incarceration and inescapable feelings of guilt for his part in the death of his friend Razzle of the band Hanoi Rocks (Vince drove while under the influence and was involved in a car accident that would not see his passenger, Razzle, survive and would also seriously injure two other people). Mick Mars had to cope with a rare bone disease (ankylosing spondylitis) which made it nearly impossible for him to move about on stage and contributed to his recent hip replacement surgery.

The band lived in the proverbial media-induced fishbowl in the height of their fame, and high profile relationships between Tommy Lee and screen vixens Heather Locklear and Pamela Anderson, as well as other high profile relationships between Nikki Sixx, Vince Neil and other voluptuous members of Hollywood's music and film community only added luster to the bands growing legend. Eventually, everything came to a head when Neil left (or was kicked out, depending on who you believe) the band. A reincarnated Motley Crue emerged with a new lead singer in tow, but was never even remotely as successful as the original lineup, in part due to the emergence of grunge in the early '90's and the death of hair and glam metal.

The tour will likely be a welcome breath of reinvigorated fame for the members of Motley Crue, who since their arena-hopping, globe trotting, groupie ravaging glory days have toiled in comparative obscurity in their new bands. Nikki Sixx was last heard from in Brides of Destruction. Tommy Lee played in Methods of Mayhem. Vince Neil toured as a solo artist and made an appearance on the television show The Surreal Life, which paraded forgotten stars of yesteryear in front of the camera in what was, for many of the participants, likely a last stab at the big time.

Motley Crue will be appearing on Jimmy Kimmel Live this Friday, and will also appear at the Spike TV Video Game Awards next Tuesday. The first dates to be announced for the US/Canadian leg of the tour are as follows. The second dates indicate when tickets go on sale for those particular shows:

Feb. 17 Ft. Lauderdale, FL Office Depot Center Dec. 11- TBA
Feb. 18 Tampa, FL St. Pete Times Forum Dec. 11- Noon
Feb. 20 Greenville, SC Bi-Lo Center Dec. 11- 10 a.m.
Feb. 22 Cleveland, OH Gund Arena Dec. 10- 10 a.m.
Feb. 23 Toronto, ON* Air Canada Center Dec. 10- 10 a.m.
Feb. 25 Detroit, MI The Palace Dec. 11- 11 a.m.
Feb. 27 Ottawa, ON Corel Centre Dec. 11- TBA
Feb. 28 Hartford, CT Hartford Civic Center Dec. 11- TBA
Mar. 3 New York, NY Madison Square Garden Dec. 11- 9 a.m.
Mar. 4 Philadelphia, PA Wachovia Spectrum Dec. 11- 10 a.m.
Mar. 5 Boston, MA Fleet Center Dec. 11- 11 a.m.
Mar. 6 Washington D.C. MCI Center Dec. 18- TBA
Mar. 8 Columbus, OH Schottenstein Center Dec. 11- 10 a.m.
Mar. 10 Chicago, IL Allstate Arena Dec. 11- 10 a.m.
Mar. 12 Milwaukee, WI US Cellular Arena TBD
Mar. 14 Minneapolis, MN* Target Center Dec. 11- 1 p.m.
Mar. 15 Kansas City, MO* Kemper Arena TBD
Mar. 17 Dallas, TX Nokia Live TBD
Mar. 19 Phoenix, AZ Cricket Pavillion Dec. 11 - TBD
Mar. 20 Las Vegas, NV* The Joint TBD
Mar. 22 San Diego, CA Coors Amphitheatre TBD
Mar. 23 Los Angeles, CA The Forum (tentative) Dec. 11- TB Mar. 25 Reno, NV Reno Events Center TBD
Mar. 26 Oakland, CA Oakland Arena Dec. 11- TBD

After hitting Latin America and Europe in the spring and summer, Motley Crue will return to North America in the fall, including another show in Toronto with the date and venue TBA. Here's the track listing for the new double anthology album to whet your appetite until the tour starts:

1. Live Wire
2. Piece of Your Action
3. Toast of the Town
4. Too Fast For Love
5. Black Widow
6. Looks That Kill
7. Too Young To Fall In Love [remix]
8. Helter Skelter
9. Shout at the Devil
10. Smokin' in the Boys Room
11. Use It Or Lose It
12. Girls, Girls, Girls
13. Wild Side
14. You're All I Need
15. All In The Name Of...
16. Kickstart My Heart
17. Without You
18. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
19. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
20. Dr. Feelgood

1. Anarchy In The UK
2. Primal Scream
3. Home Sweet Home ['91 remix]
4. Hooligan's Holiday [Brown Nose Edit]
5. Misunderstood [Successful Format Version]
6. Planet Boom
7. Bittersuite
8. Afraid [Alternative Rave Mix]
9. Beauty
10. Generation Swine
11. Bitter Pill
12. Enslaved
13. Hell on High Heels
14. New Tattoo single version
15. If I Die Tomorrow (new)
16. Street Fighting Man (new)
17. Sick Love Song (new)

Writer: Joe Henley



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
how many songs are on the cd
red,white and crue
Posted by: Anonymous on February 16, 2006
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.