The 2004 Shortlist Music Prize Winner Is...

Published: 2004-11-17
Pitted against some of the most notorious names in music, it was New York band TV On The Radio that swiped the highest honours at this year's Shortlist of Music Awards. Chosen for their debut album 'Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes' (released in March 2004), TV On The Radio was announced as the winner of the 4th Annual Shortlist Music Prize at a ceremony in Los Angeles this past Monday (November 15th).

In addition to the coveted title, TV On The Radio also received a nice lump of cash - $10,000 to be precise - as part of their winnings. Not only did the trio take home the prize, but they played a half-hour set for those in attendance at the ceremony, as did Dizzee Rascal and Eagles of Death Metal.

With nominees chosen by fellow musicians (this year's panel included Jack Black and Robert Smith), only those who have sold less than 500,000 copies of their album are eligible for the Shortlist Music Prize. One of the few awards that recognize talent above record sales, past winners of the Prize includes Damien Rice, N.E.R.D., and Sigur Ros.

The other nine acts that were shortlisted for the 2004 Shortlist but did not win (aka the losers) are: Air for 'Walkie Talkie', Dizzee Rascal for 'Boy In Da Corner', Franz Ferdinand for 'Franz Ferdinand', Ghostface for 'The Pretty Toney Album', The Killers for 'Hot Fuss', Loretta Lynn for 'Van Lear Rose', Nellie McKay for 'Get Away From Me', The Streets for 'A Grand Don't Come For Free', and Wilco for 'A Ghost Is Born'.

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.