Ben Harper Teams Up With The Blind Boys

Published: 2004-09-21
Folk-rock artist Ben Harper and his band the Innocent Criminals are back with a new album, which they created along with the Blind Boys of Alabama. The record is called 'There Will Be a Light' and houses 11 collaborative tracks by the two groups. The majority of the songs on the album were written by Harper, with a few gospel standards thrown in. 'There Will Be a Light' is released today (September 21st) on Virgin records.

The recording of 'There Will Be a Light' was finished in just two sessions, with both Harper and the Blind Boys of Alabama getting equal face time. The bluesy gospel sound of the new record is sure to satisfy fans of both Harper and the Blind Boys of Alabama, a more traditional sounding group.

The Blind Boys of Alabama have existed in some form since 1939, so it's no wonder that the album sounds as if it's a true return to music's roots. Check out a video of the recording of 'There Will Be a Light' at

The track-listing of "There Will Be a Light':

'Take My Hand'
'Wicked Man'
'Where Could I Go'
'Church House Steps'
'11th Commandment'
'Well Well Well'
'Picture of Jesus''
'Satisfied Mind'
'Mother Pray'
'There Will Be a Light'
'Church On Time'

Writer: Jaclyn Arndt



Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home2/soulshi/public_html/news/newsarticle.php on line 513
Please login / register to post a personalized comment, or you may simply post as an Anonymous user.
SPEAK OUT! Post your comments about this article here.